Log in

April 08 Theme - Photo Whores R Us [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Photo Whores R Us

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

April 08 Theme [Apr. 5th, 2008|07:15 pm]
Photo Whores R Us


I know, I'm late... sorry.

The modern, 78-card tarot deck has two distinct parts:

* The Major Arcana ("greater secrets"), or trump cards, consists of 21 cards without suits, plus a 22nd card, The Fool, which is often given the value of zero: The Fool, The Magician, The High Priestess, The Empress, The Emperor, The Hierophant, The Lovers, The Chariot, Strength, The Hermit, Wheel of Fortune, Justice, The Hanged Man, Death, Temperance, The Devil, The Tower, The Star, The Moon, The Sun, Judgement, and The World.

* The Minor Arcana ("lesser secrets") consists of 56 cards (traditionally referred to as pips and courts), divided into four suits of 14 cards each: ten numbered cards called pips and four court cards. The court cards are the page, knight, queen and king in each of the four tarot suits. The traditional Italian tarot suits are swords, batons, coins and cups; in modern tarot decks, however, the batons suit is often called wands, rods or staves, while the coins suit is often called pentacles or disks.